Boys Middle School Cross Country, Girls Middle School Cross Country · Star runners end season at Middle School XC Championships

The Western Boone Stars Junior High Cross Country teams’ final race of the season was at the Indiana Middle School Cross Country Championship Meet on Saturday at the Northview Christian Church in Carmel. The Stars competed in 4 races – Small School Girls JV and Varsity races as well as Small School Boys JV and Varsity races. Any Indiana middle school can compete and therefore, anywhere from 160 to 340 runners were in each race with usually more than 40 schools represented.

In the Girls JV race, the Lady Stars had 10 runners with all but 2 achieving their personal best of the season. 6th grader Bethany Martin led the group in a 58th place in a PR time of 14:09. 7th grader Rosie Rogers came in 72nd (14:30) and 6th grader Bailey Keyes was 85th in 14:42. Close behind was 4 more 6th graders, all finishing in the top 135 with great efforts. Cara Hanna ran a 14:52 (93rd), Charlotte Stucky finished with 15:04 (105th), Janelle Gearheart had 15:13 (114th), and Brook Boss ran 15:37 (125th). Rounding out the JV team with very strong races were Carli Hanna with 16:16 (134th), Charity Shelton in 17:19 (153rd) and Katherine Mateika with 17:29 (156th).

WeBo had 3 Lady Stars who ran in the Varsity race. Bailey Haag, who showed to have a strong race, led the Stars and was followed by just 16 seconds by Samantha Jones. Haag finished in 111th place in 12:52 and Jones ran her last Middle School race with a 13:08 time in 137th place. Also running extremely well was 8th grader Emily Parsons who shaved off 26 seconds off her previously best time from earlier in the week. She finished with 13:48 in 227th place.

For the Star Boys, there were just 2 in the JV race. Brawn Puckett led the way with a personal best time of 14:35 (165th place). Keaton Deane also had a huge PR with a 19:36 time (204th place), giving him a 2:37 improvement.

As had been the case all year, 8th grader Lane Hardee led the WeBo Star Boys team, this time in the Varsity race at the State Meet. He earned a 72nd place finish in 11:26. Breaking the 12 minute barrier 2 races in a row was 7th grader Collin Washburn with another PR time – 11:53 (131st). Not far behind and getting the same PR time in the last 2 meets of the season was 6th grader Isaac Threlkeld in 12:08, gaining him 166th place. Many of the rest of the team also had PR runs or close to them and finished the year with great improvement. A PR time of 12:24 is what Luke LaGrange finished with (208th) and 8th grader Graham Cavins had a PR with 12:43 (258th place). Other strong races were by Landyn Hardee (13:00 – 296th), Carter Hanna (13:13 – 321st), and Alex Crockett (13:23 – 338th).